Swampscott Little League offers baseball and softball programs for children age 4 to 16 years old.

Sponsored By:   Become a SLL Sponsor!
My my My my

General Information

If you have ever watched the Little League World Series on ESPN, you have witnessed the culimination of an All-Star tournament that begins in local little league districts all across the country and in leagues around the world.

Here in Swampscott, All-Star teams are traditionally formed at multiple age levels in baseball and softball.  In baseball, teams are usually fielded at three levels:  at the 11-12 year old age level,  at the 10-11 year old age level , and at the  9-10 year old age level.   The 11-12s tournment concludes in Williamsport, as seen on ESPN, while the younger tournaments end in other national locations.   Softball follows the same pattern, though we only field teams at levels with enough players and the finals are held in different locations each year.    

The Games All-Stars Play

Swampscott All-Star teams continue playing until they are eliminated. The progression of the All-Star season begins with the double elimination District 16 Tournament.  Winning teams continue through sectionals, the Massachusetts State Championship, the New England Regional, and ultimately to the Little League World Series. 

District 16 Tournament

The state of Massachusetts is organized into sixteen different regional districts that cover the entire state, and Swampscott is a member of Massachusetts Little League District 16.

The first stop for the Swampscott All-Stars is the District 16 Tournament, which is a double elimination competition held against other Little League All-Star teams from District 16.  The following little leagues are members of district 16:   East Lynn, Lynn Shore, Lynnfield, Marblehead (softball only), Nahant, Peabody, Peabody Western, Pine Hill, Revere, Salem, Saugus, Swampscott, West Lynn, Winthrop, &Wyoma. 

Swampscott has a storied history in district play, winning the district a total of 25 times.   Teams have won in 2020, 2016, 2010, 2001, 1999, 1998, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1991, 1989, 1984, 1983, 1981, 1980, 1979, 1978, 1975, 1971, 1970, 1967, 1963.

Massachusetts Sectional Tournament

District 16 winners go on to play in a Massachusetts sectional tournament against the winners of Districts 13, 14, & 15. 

Massachusetts State Little League Championship

The sectional winner moves on to the The Massachusetts State Little League Championship.  The tournament is held at different host locations every year. The winner of the tournament is then crowned the Massachusetts State Champion, and will move on to the New England Regional tournament.

Swampscott has claimed the title of Massahusetts State Champions in Baseball four times:  1983. 1981, 1979, 1978 


To be considered for a team, you must....