Swampscott Little League offers baseball and softball programs for children age 4 to 16 years old.

Sponsored By:   Signarama
My my My my

Swampscott LL: Established in 1954 and celebrated our 60th Anniversary in 2014.

Do you know what Dustin Pedroia (Red Sox), Bill Belichick (Patriots Coach), Chris Christie (NJ Governor), Michelle Wie (Pro golfer), Jason Calichman (Swampscott Principal / Varsity Baseball coach), Peter Woodfork (SVP Operations Major League Baseball and former SHS player), and Chris Dwyer (Kansas City Royals pitcher and Swampscott resident) have in common. They all played Little League ball.

Swampscott has a rich baseball and softball history. Swampscott Little League has won 23 district championships since its first appearance in the Massachusetts State Little League Tournament in 1958. In addition, Swampscott has won four state baseball titles -- all occurring during the dynasty years of 1978-1983.

Beyond our on-field successes, our true contribution has been in developing the character and principles of thousands of Swampscott youths.

Got a good story or memory of Swampscott Little League? Know an alumni doing cool things? Let us know. Email us at swampscottllorg@gmail.com. 

Swampscott LL: Most Successful Little League Program in Massachusetts

The tiny town of Swampscott is a mighty giant with a rich history in Little League tournament play.

Swampscott won its first District 16 title at the Major League level in 1961. The team won the Sectional Champtionship but lost in the state final to Brockton North after beating Revere in the first game of the tournament. The tournament was held in Haverill and the kids (15 players) stayed in Phillips Academy, Andover, during the tournament. Al Duratti often recalled that Swampscott had never seen anything like this before—"people were going crazy, everyone was afraid to change shirts for fear of jinxing the team, and people were losing their voices from yelling so loud at each game".

From 1961 to 1983, Swampscott won 11 District Championships, 6 Sectional Championships, and 4 State titles in a remarkable run in 1978, 1979, 1981 and 1983.

Above, is the 1983 state championship team, with Manager Bill Bufalino on the far left and coach Dick O’Neil on the far right. The players were (front row) James Barne, Derek January, John O’Brien, Alex Fitzherbert, Tony D’Alelio, Brian Feeley, Rusty Hopkins and back row Jeff January, John DeCamp, Tom Wrenn, Matt Murray (who later played in the Major Leagues), Jim Defelice, Steven Pedro, and Robert Calichman.